Skip to main content

Our board is a diverse team with a wealth of varied experience and knowledge. 

Michelle Shepherd


Chair appointed May 2023


Independent, non-executive, B.Econ, B.Comm, GAICD


Ms Shepherd has over 20 years’ experience in both the private and public sectors of Australia’s electricity and gas markets.  Ms Shepherd was formerly a Commissioner at the Australian Energy Market Commission. Prior to becoming a Commissioner in 2018, Ms Shepherd spent over 15 years working on national energy reform and strategy at Alinta Energy and AGL. Ms Shepherd has also worked for the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission, UK Competition Commission and the Commonwealth Department of Finance. She is a Graduate of the AICD and holds a Bachelor of Applied Economics from Murdoch University and a Bachelor of Commerce from Curtin University.

Committee membership Chair of the Human Resources and Sustainability Committee

Yasmin Broughton


Director from November 2017, Deputy Chair from May 2023


Independent, non-executive, BComm PG Dip Law FAICD


Ms Broughton is a corporate lawyer with significant experience working as both a director and senior executive in a diverse range of industries, including electricity and gas, and was previously the acting general counsel and company secretary of Alinta Limited, a former ASX 50 company. Ms Broughton is the chair of VOC Group Limited, a non-executive director of Resolute Mining Limited, Wright Prospecting Pty Ltd, The Royal Automobile Club of WA (Inc) and Greatland Gold plc.  Ms Broughton is also an advisory council member for the Curtin University School of Business.   In the not for profit sector, Ms Broughton is a non-executive director of Presbyterian Ladies College Foundation.

Committee membership

 Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee

Member of the Human Resources and Sustainability Committee.

Rob Bransby

Position Director since July 2015
Qualifications Independent, non-executive, A.Fin, FAIM

Mr Bransby is the chair of Australian Health Insurance Alliance, Commonwealth Private Bank Ltd, Commonwealth Financial Planning Ltd, Financial Wisdom Limited and a director of the Craig Mostyn Group. He is also a commissioner of the Insurance Commission of WA. He is a former managing director of HBF Health Limited and a former director of HealthGuard Health Benefits Pty Ltd, HBF Insurance Pty Ltd and Pioneer Credit Ltd. Prior to HBF, Mr Bransby held various executive positions throughout 25 years at the National Australia Bank Ltd.

Committee membership  Member of the Human Resources and Sustainability Committee

Peter Clough


Director since November 2019


Independent, non-executive, BCE


Mr Clough has over 30 years of experience in the energy and resources sectors. He was most recently the general manager of government affairs at Woodside Petroleum, but during his career has provided consulting services to a number of Western Australia’s biggest firms including Alcoa, BHP Billiton, Santos and Telstra. Following his early career working for the Western Australian Government primarily in resources development, he became the executive officer of government affairs at the Chamber of Minerals and Energy WA, and later the general secretary of that industry association. He has also served as the deputy chairman of commissioners at the City of Joondalup.

Committee membership

Member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Denise McComish

Position Director since May 2023
Qualifications Independent, non-executive, FCA, HonD.Bus., MAICD

Ms McComish is a highly experienced accounting and audit professional with extensive experience across the energy and natural resources, financial services and infrastructure sectors. She was a partner with KPMG for 30 years and held leadership positions as a KPMG Australian board member and as National Mining Leader. She is currently a director of Webjet Ltd, Gold Road Resources Ltd, Macmahon Holdings Ltd and mental health organisation Beyond Blue Ltd. She has been a member of the Australian Takeovers Panel since 2013,  is chair of the Advisory Board for the School of Business and Law at Edith Cowan University, and is a member of Chief Executive Women and the AICD.

Committee membership Member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Richard Watson


Director since May 2019


Ex Officio, B.Econs (Hons), M.Phil


Mr Watson is currently the Assistant Under Treasurer, Infrastructure and Finance for the Western Australian Department of Treasury. He currently leads a team of 70 professionals who provide advice and analysis on the budgeting needs of WA’s government trading enterprises and around 60 general government agencies.

Committee membership Member of the Audit and Risk Committee

Board committees

There are two committees that assist the board to discharge its corporate governance and oversight responsibilities. These are the audit and risk committee, and human resources and sustainability committee


Audit and risk charter 2022

Human resources and sustainability charter 2022

Board charter